UNION
GMB Equalities

Welcome to
GMB Equalities

GMB Union is a union for everyone. Find out about our events, conferences, changes to legislation that matter on equalities and useful tools and resources to make equality a reality in your workplace. 

Contact us

 

Why is equality a trade union issue?

GMB members come from a range of diverse backgrounds, and we know that different groups have different challenges to face in the workplace.

Sometimes people ask why equality is a trade union issue. And the answer is simple:

  • Women workers are still lower paid on average than men for doing the same jobs
  • Ethnic minority workers are less likely to get a promotion than their white counterparts
  • Young workers are the most likely group to face bullying at work
  • Disabled workers are  often ‘performance managed’ out of their jobs or denied reasonable adjustments
  • LGBTQ+ workers are still harassed at work and in wider society

Although there is legislation in place to stop employers discriminating against workers if they fall into one of these groups (what the government calls having a ‘protected characteristic’ and we call equality strands), if we had full equality the above problems would not persist. And that’s why we need to organise around equality; to ensure that whoever our members are that they are treated with respect, afforded the opportunity to progress, and get justice if they are treated unfairly.

 


 

How does GMB help members from different backgrounds?

Equality is at the heart of everything GMB does, we are here to ensure that our members are treated fairly and the workplaces we organise are inclusive for all.

From representing members that face harassment due to their ethnicity or sexuality, to ensuring our disabled members get the reasonable adjustments they need, GMB delivers change for members in the workplace.

Each of our branches has a position for an equality officer, who helps advise members on equality issues and organise their workplace on the issues that are most important to their members. They can help assist you with a workplace problem. We also have Regional Equality Officers, who support Self-Organised Groups to campaign on the issues that matter to them. Our National Equality Department co-ordinates campaigns across regions and develops new policies to help members in the workplace. Whether you want support for an individual issue at work, or you want to get the law changed to help a disadvantaged group, there will be someone in GMB who can help forward your aims.

 


 

Want to get involved with GMB Equality?

 

Contact your local Regional Equality Officer for details of local events and campaigns:

Birmingham & West Midlands Cerys Way, cerys.way@gmb.org.uk   

London Sue Hackett, sue.hackett@gmb.org.uk      

Midlands & East Coast Tyehimba Nosakhere, tyehimba.nosakhere@gmb.org.uk

Northern Julie Wynn, julie.wynn@gmb.org.uk

North West Lisa Ryan, lisa.ryan@gmb.org.uk

Scotland Sandie Rowlands, sandie.rowlands@gmb.org.uk

Southern Michelle Gordon, michelle.gordon@gmb.org.uk

South West & Wales Ruth Brady, ruth.brady@gmb.org.uk

Yorkshire Louise Foster-Wilson, louise.foster-wilson@gmb.org.uk

 

For any other enquires, please contact:

National Office Nell Andrew,  nell.andrew@gmb.org.uk   

 


 

Latest News

Campaigns

Wages not based on ages

Young workers get paid less than people they work alongside, even though they are doing the same job. GMB Young Members campaign for fair pay for all - wages should not be based on ages. 

Dying to Work

GMB is campaigning with the TUC to see terminal illness recognised as a ‘protected characteristi

 
Join more than 600,000 people and become a GMB member today
Join Us!